3 Comments

Angry Elevator People

 We’ve all been there and it annoys the living hell out of me. Everyday, I walk into the office and this happens to me at least once a day by the elevator.

I’ve already clicked the button to call the elevator. Then the “ANGRY ELEVATOR PERSON” (or so I like to refer to them as) comes and clicks the button again, as if it was supposed to speed things up and make the elevator think “okay, that’s two clicks – let’s get there faster”.

Naturally, once the elevator is called upon we all click on our respective floors. That same person will then click the “close door button” several times in a row or hold it down. Again, I don’t see the logic behind all of this.

Then it dawned to me how impatient of a society we’ve become. Everything is instant. We no longer wait for our newspaper to arrive to our mailbox. We simply open bbc.co.uk (or whatever news website you read). I know technology is advancing but it’s come to the point where people are e-mailing back and fourth from their phones. I understand this as I use it (okay you caught me) but we’re also getting our tweets to our phones, our instant messages directly on our phone. Hey, and we even know if someone has received or read our instant messages (what’s app, bbm etc). Have we become that impatient? How did we used to live before all of this stuff?

Don’t get me wrong, I love technology and I am always on my iPhone/iPad either reading or doing something. Heck, I even use my iPhone to track my runs/bike rides via GPS apps such as Nike+ . However, it hasn’t hindered my patience. Why we always want things to be instant all the time beats me. What ever happened to “good things come to those who wait”? I’m sure there is some logic behind that.

On the other hand, I’ve never heard “good things come to those who incessantly click the close door elevator button”…or maybe I’ve been living under a rock for centuries.

Anyways, I’d like to end this post and just tell you all that it’s not a bad thing to be patient. It’s not always good to get things instant and whenever you want. When I was growing up that was called being spoiled. Patience is a virtue. Therefore, embrace it. Don’t ignore it.

3 comments on “Angry Elevator People

  1. I like this. Looking forward to reading more posts of yours. Cheers! x

  2. If I were an elevator, I’d slow down. Just to see their heads go red.

  3. @Mia: Thanks a lot! I’m excited to be blogging again. Hopefully I’ll keep it up for longer than 6 months this time :). Glad you enjoyed it!

    @Visiting: lol if elevators could talk… 🙂

Leave a Reply

